• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rmack@int-bio.com

rmack@int-bio.com

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 May 2013 - 03:15 PM

So, I am just getting started and yes, I have RTFM (read the funny manual). Both the Admin and user ones as well as the getting started one.

None of them describes how one connects a depot to a workspace (or vice versa).  It seems to happen as if by magic.  There is certainly no "connect to this depot" place on the connection dialog in P4V.  There also appears to be no way to tell the workspace to connect to a different depot if you did it wrong.

SO, I have three depots in our freshly minted server.  They show up as below:
depot
Test_depot
Test_depot_2
streamsDepot

I have no idea whether I have done something stupid in setting up the depots because none of the 3 manuals I have read describe depot management in detail from a "how do I use depots for managing multiple projects" standpoint.

I suspect these types of information exist somewhere, but I haven't stumbled on them yet.

I want one workspace to connect to Test_depot and another one to connect to Test_depot_2. Inquiring minds want to know...

#2 P4GabeW

P4GabeW

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 01 May 2013 - 03:33 PM

You don't connect to a single depot, per se. You connect to the server the depots live on. The depots are then "connected" to by mapping them in the workspace mappings.

So, let's say your server is local, so the server port is localhost:1666 (the default is 1666, but that could have been remapped). When you first create a workspace against the server with the depots you're describing above, would create a default mapping (view) that looks like:

//depot/... //workspaceName/depot/...
//Test_depot/... //workspaceName/Test_depot/...
//Test_depot2/... //workspaceName/Test_depot2/...
//streamsDepot/... //workspaceName/streamsDepot/...