submittable stream "import"s (or sharing between streams)

stream import

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 SergeyN

SergeyN

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 22 February 2014 - 10:05 PM

Hello.

Sorry if my question sounds noobie, I'm new to perforce.

In stream specification "import" directive is useful for bringing in 3rd party folders. I have a situation where many project share the same source code. However, from time to time the shared code gets improved when working on one specific project, and those improvements I would like to get automatically propagated to all other projects sharing the same common code. According to the docs, if shared code brought via "import" directive, then I can't submit changes to it.

Could you please help me set this up right with perforce ?

Thanks.

#2 P4Matt

P4Matt

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1383 posts

Posted 24 February 2014 - 05:27 AM

There's a really nice way to handle this using shelves that maintains the goal of changes only ever impacting one stream, while allowing you to get changes where they need to be. While you can't submit to the imports, you can shelve changes against them. Make the changes you want to your imported paths, and then use the 'shelve' command to stash that work on the server. Now you can either switch to a workspace that can submit those files, or if those files are owned by another group, you can have them review and submit your changes.

It is a bit tedious to do this in two phases, but when we were designing streams one of our goals was to use them to enforce SCM best practices. Many times we saw people making the same change across four or five codelines in one change instead of making it one place and then propagating the change. The read-only imports are an attempt to enforce that rule.

#3 phopkins

phopkins

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 24 February 2014 - 05:33 AM