#1 chandrabhanu_27

chandrabhanu_27

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationPune

Posted 16 April 2014 - 11:30 AM

Hi!

I am new to p4java and so would like some help regarding reuse of p4ticket generated during "p4 login -a" across a number of applications.

To be able to connect and fetch data from perforce following code is used

server = getServer(serverAddress, null);
server.setUserName(userName);
server.login(password);

Everytime a login is performed a new p4 ticket is used for the application which seem to have a self life of around an year as far I was communicated by my perforce admin.

server. getLoginStatus() ---  did confirm that which essentially performs similar to "p4 login -s"

Now, I have a number of applications logining in to the perforce server using the very same username and password.
So, everytime one application is up it performs login and invalidates the perforce ticket used by another leading to it to crash. All the applications run independent of one another and have to use the same machine.

So, in p4java is there a way of using the same p4 ticket across a number of applications?
As, the ticket are stored in %USERPROFILE%/p4tickets.txt and /home/<user>/.p4tickets in windows and linux respectively,

so, Can I fetch the ticket directly from p4tickets file and so don't have to perform login everytime? This will also avoid the need to hard code the password into the application, an added feature.

When the ticket expires a manual "p4 login -a" can be performed to renew the tickets.

What I am looking for is equivalent api call for "p4 tickets"?

#2 P4Matt

P4Matt

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1383 posts

Posted 17 April 2014 - 06:09 AM

You shouldn't have to perform the login yourself if you have a valid ticket; p4java should see the ticket file automatically and use it. Have you tried logging in manually and then just pulling the login call out of your code?

#3 chandrabhanu_27

chandrabhanu_27

• Members
  • Pip