Only have back up of depots versioned files. How to put them in new Perforce server on entirely new computer?

depot versioned files new server

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 CodeCalibre

CodeCalibre

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 October 2014 - 06:09 PM

Hello.

I have a new computer. And I also have a very old copy of a depot with its versioned files. I don't think it has the correct db files that came with it.

I installed the last perforce version I used on that depot on my new fresh computer. The version is P4D/NTX64/2010.2/284433 (2011/01/28).

How do I make it such that the old depot's versioned files I have be accessible again into this new computer?

Please note that I am only a personal user and I am not really good with perforce administration so simple steps on how to do it please. I am okay if information such as change lists and histories will be gone, but it would be great if I can restore that too.

Pardon my English. I hope someone can help me. Those were very important codes to me.

#2 P4Shimada

P4Shimada

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 02 October 2014 - 11:03 PM

Hello,

The following Knowledge Base article has step-by-step instructions when transferring work in progress to a new machine:

http://answers.perfo...ding-Changelist

Let us know if you have any other questions after looking over the instructions.

#3 CodeCalibre

CodeCalibre

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 October 2014 - 05:14 AM

View PostP4Shimada, on 02 October 2014 - 11:03 PM, said:

Hello,

The following Knowledge Base article has step-by-step instructions when transferring work in progress to a new machine:

http://answers.perfo...ding-Changelist

Let us know if you have any other questions after looking over the instructions.