Jump to content


P4V 2014.2 resolve window empty

resolve p4v 2014.2

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 07 November 2014 - 09:44 PM

Still adjusting to 2014.2 and today was my first attempt to Resolve files and it no longer works.

I did a Get Latest to pick up changes from teammates and a few files needed resolving.  So I select those, Right-click, Resolve...

The "Files to Resolve" list is empty. uh-oh.  Selecting "Auto resolve multiple files" shows buttons below but the list is still empty.

I see the same behavior if I right-click a single file and select Resolve... -- nothing is listed. This is not an issue with earlier versions of P4V.

I've attached a screenshot of the issue.  Any suggestions for getting this to recognize the selection?

Update: I confirmed that the command line is able to resolve the files:  p4 resolve -am //depot/..etc../myfile.cpp         So this seems to be a GUI/P4V issue.

John

#2 terryspitz

terryspitz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 November 2014 - 04:09 PM

I had the same issue.  I resolved successfully from another machine with older version of P4V.

#3 chip.dip

chip.dip

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 November 2014 - 11:37 PM

This still happens with P4V 2014.2 patch 1 posted today (12Nov14).    I'm running on windows7-64.  May be related to the fix for refresh of pending changelist bug not showing all files in changelist.  In that bug, if a file needing to be resolved was missing from the list displayed, it was also missing from the Resolve Files dialog.

#4 jwgtalbot

jwgtalbot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2014 - 11:14 AM

Hi,

Have just upgraded my P4V to 2014.2 (full version string: Perforce Visual Client/NTX64/2014.2/959839).

I have some files that I need to resolve however right clicking on a file and selecting resolve presents me with the resolve window, but there's nothing in the files to resolve section - it's blank. Resolve files is the same.

The server version I'm running against is P4D/LINUX26X86_64/2010.2/347035 (2011/08/24). Looking at the release notes under interop P4V should be fine with any server version 2010.1 and above...

A point to note - running P4V 2014.1 works fine

Just wondered if anyone has seen this issue, or there's something I'm missing! :)

Thanks,
James.

#5 chip.dip

chip.dip

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 November 2014 - 06:48 PM

All of the 2014.2 releases have had this.  

May be related to the fix for refresh of pending changelist bug in 2014.1 not showing all files in changelist.  In that bug, if a file needing to be resolved was missing from the list displayed, it was also missing from the Resolve Files dialog.

#6 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 19 November 2014 - 03:59 PM

Yes, here's the post I started about this issue. No official response so far...

http://forums.perfor...ed-files-20142/



#7 P4Sam

P4Sam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 19 November 2014 - 07:29 PM

Is anyone who's running into this able to reproduce it at will?  Or have a live example that we could try to study and generate a test case from?  Does it persist after P4V has been refreshed, or exited and restarted?

I'd be interesting in seeing the output of the following commands on a file that's showing this behavior (not sure exactly what I'm looking for, but maybe with some data in front of us a pattern will emerge):

p4 resolve -n
p4 resolved
p4 opened
p4 filelog
p4 fstat

#8 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 19 November 2014 - 07:39 PM

I seem to be able to recreate it at will; I just caused it to occur. It persists after a refresh and after exit+restart.

Here's the output. Looks like I need parameters to the filelog and fstat commands.

C:\JMPDev>p4 resolve -n
c:\JMPDev\source\Portable\srcUtil\pptx\pptExport.cpp - merging //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp#66

C:\JMPDev>p4 resolved
No file(s) resolved.

C:\JMPDev>p4 opened
//depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp#66 - edit default change (text)

C:\JMPDev>p4 filelog
Usage: filelog [ -c changelist# -h -i -l -L -t -m maxRevs -s ] files...
Missing/wrong number of arguments.

C:\JMPDev>p4 fstat
Usage: fstat [ -F filter -T fields -m max -r ] [ -c | -e changelist# ] [ -Ox -Rx
-Sx ] file[rev]...
Missing/wrong number of arguments.



If I do p4 filelog //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp here's the head of the output (many pushes elided):

C:\JMPDev>p4 filelog //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
//depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
... #66 change 148819 edit on 2014/11/19 by saspjs@saspjs-Windows8 (text) 'Test Perforce 2014.2 bug '
... #65 change 148756 edit on 2014/11/18 by saspjs@saspjs-d7a750 (text) 'S1128878: Add processing to cou'
... #64 change 148625 edit on 2014/11/17 by saspjs@saspjs-d7a750 (text) 'S1131010: Added code to suppres'
... #63 change 148371 edit on 2014/11/13 by daschi@daschi-Win_all (text) 'fix non-debug build '


#9 P4Sam

P4Sam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 19 November 2014 - 07:42 PM

Excellent.  I realize I should have asked for the base on that "resolved" command too (pretty sure it's #65 of that same file); this should do it:

p4 resolve -on //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
p4 filelog //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
p4 fstat //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp

#10 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 19 November 2014 - 07:58 PM

C:\JMPDev>p4 resolve -on //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp

c:\JMPDev\source\Portable\srcUtil\pptx\pptExport.cpp - merging //depot/main/sour
ce/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp#66 using base //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp#65

C:\JMPDev>p4 filelog //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
//depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
... #66 change 148819 edit on 2014/11/19 by saspjs@saspjs-Windows8 (text) 'Test Perforce 2014.2 bug '
... #65 change 148756 edit on 2014/11/18 by saspjs@saspjs-d7a750 (text) 'S1128878: Add processing to cou'
... #64 change 148625 edit on 2014/11/17 by saspjs@saspjs-d7a750 (text) 'S1131010: Added code to suppres'
... #63 change 148371 edit on 2014/11/13 by daschi@daschi-Win_all (text) 'fix non-debug build '

< ... many items elided ... >

... #1 change 131472 add on 2014/03/11 by saspjs@saspjs-Win2013 (text) 'Add libopc, libxml2 for PowerPo'

C:\JMPDev>p4 fstat //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
... depotFile //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
... clientFile c:\JMPDev\source\Portable\srcUtil\pptx\pptExport.cpp
... isMapped
... headAction edit
... headType text
... headTime 1416425614
... headRev 66
... headChange 148819
... headModTime 1416425598
... haveRev 66
... action edit
... change default
... type text
... actionOwner saspjs
... unresolved

Let me know if you need more.  My personal mail is john dot schroedl at jmp dot com  (human parsed obviously)

Ran the resolved with the file path:

C:\JMPDev>p4 resolved //depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp
//depot/main/source/Portable/srcUtil/pptx/pptExport.cpp - no file(s) resolved.

#11 P4Sam

P4Sam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 19 November 2014 - 09:13 PM

One more piece of data: what's the server version?  ("p4 info")  I'm not having any luck reproducing this on the current server but maybe there's some kind of backward compatibility problem with older servers.

#12 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 19 November 2014 - 09:16 PM

p4 info says:

Server version:P4D/NTX64/2010.2/503309 (2012/07/31)

#13 P4Sam

P4Sam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 19 November 2014 - 09:43 PM

Ah, that did it!  As soon as I try to set up a resolve of a text file on a 2010.2 server the resolve dialog in P4V stops working.  It looks like it works fine on newer servers, so if you're able to upgrade your server that will most likely fix it.

#14 fourbadcats

fourbadcats

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 19 November 2014 - 09:54 PM

Thanks for investigating!

Our shop is not at a good point in our dev cycle to be able take the server offline and risk updates so I will just probably just downgrade my client and schedule a server upgrade when we're able. Thanks again.

I hope the others hitting this are in a position to upgrade the server.



#15 chip.dip

chip.dip

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 November 2014 - 02:30 AM

For large companies, updating the server is not a small task and and needs to be done when it won't interfere with product release schedules.

Is there any chance that this can be fixed in P4V?

#16 dfukalov

dfukalov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 December 2014 - 01:16 PM

Have the same issue, server has version 2010.1/503158 (2012/07/31), using through proxy 2010.1/257888 (2010/08/04). Release notes for the latest p4v says "You can use this release of P4VS with any release of the Perforce server at or later than 2009.2" so it seems to be a bug.

#17 Schultz9999

Schultz9999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 December 2014 - 07:25 PM

Wow... Seriously? This is the answer - "Upgrade your server"? How about thousands of dollars in involves and hours of work lost after unsuspecting tens of users upgraded?? Who needs backwards compatibility, right???

#18 P4Shimada

P4Shimada

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:13 AM

John,

Thank you for sending in your reproduction steps and reporting the issue. There is a bug report for P4V 2014.2 regarding the resolve not showing files when using pre 2011 servers. I have added your name and email to the existing bug report for this issue on your behalf. After the fix is released you will receive notification by email.

Currently, one workaround is to use an earlier version of P4V such as the 2014.1 version.

#19 Freuz

Freuz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 14 April 2015 - 01:26 PM

Hi P4Shimada,

when this bug will be finally solved? I installed the 2014.3 on my new computer and it not solved... Upgrade server from P4D/NTX64/2010.1/251161 version to a new one is not a solution without risks.

Freuz

#20 P4Shimada

P4Shimada

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 15 April 2015 - 12:33 AM

Hi Frederic,

Sorry to hear you also ran into this issue. Since only 2011.1+ servers work properly with those later P4V versions, the work-around is to use a lower version of P4V such as 2014.1, which can be retrieved from our ftp.perforce.com site:

  ftp://ftp.perforce.com/perforce/r14.1/

When the fix is released, you can always look at the P4V release notes for it:

  http://www.perforce....er/p4vnotes.txt

Going forward after the fix is released, it is likely that newer P4V/P4Admin will not even start on 2010.2 and older servers.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: resolve, p4v, 2014.2

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users