Stopping notepad popup of tmp files while running change and other commands.

tmp files notepad change commands pipe batch

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 raysid

raysid

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 April 2015 - 08:19 AM

Hi.

I am a beginner in perforce and trying to perform some perforce commands using batch files in Windows environment.

The problem is, I want to run following commands without letting the perforce open up editor (notepad) to show tmp files.

Following is required to run in order.

1. p4 set P4CLIENT=[clientname]
2.p4 client -S [streamname] [clientname]
3.p4 client -t [clientname]
4.p4 sync [path of the client clientname\...#head]

The thing is, doing above always opens up the .tmp files for step 2 and 3.

I thought to use a work around by using -o and directing the output to console like this,
p4 client -S [streamname] -o [clientname]
p4 client -o -t [clientname]

The problem in doing this is, p4 sync is not syncing the clientname and its contents, but its syncing everything i.e every work-space.
Is there any way to avoid opening the tmp files either by redirecting the o/p or something else.

Also in another instance, how to provide input to a command from batch file for the following command,
p4 change

This opens up the notepad editor for editing the description part. But i want to provide the description in the batch itself without openning the tmp file for editing.

Please provide solution for the above two problems. Your help is highly appreciated. Please try to use Windows syntax in answering the queries if possible.

Thanks in advance.

#2 P4Sam

P4Sam

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 08 April 2015 - 04:30 PM

What are you trying to do with step 3?  I think I understand everything else, but want to make sure I get your full intent before I try to come up with a set of commands to run.  :)

#3 P4Sam

P4Sam

Advanced Member

• Members