Jump to content


p4 unshelve overwrite opened files?

unshelve

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 p4hudson

p4hudson

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 18 June 2015 - 10:57 PM

Will "p4 unshelve" overwrite opened files in some cases?
I received complaint that it did in some client even though p4 help says they are marked as "need to be resolved".  Can this be avoided (or at least some warning before overwrite)?

Server version: P4D/LINUX26X86_64/2013.3/876375 (2014/06/10)

Thanks.

#2 P4Sam

P4Sam

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 18 June 2015 - 11:04 PM

It should be avoided 100% of the time.  Is it possible that the files weren't actually opened?  Or that they were scheduled for resolve and the user did an "accept theirs" to overwrite their local changes?

#3 iosman123

iosman123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 September 2019 - 02:57 PM

View Postp4hudson, on 18 June 2015 - 10:57 PM, said:

Will "p4 unshelve" overwrite opened files in some cases?
I received complaint that it did in some client even though p4 help says they are marked as "need to be resolved"...  Can this be avoided (or at least some warning before overwrite)?


Server version: P4D/LINUX26X86_64/2013.3/876375 (2014/06/10)

Thanks.


thanks my issue has been fixed.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users