• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AllanA

AllanA

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 December 2016 - 04:35 AM

I'm a novice to P4 Helix admin and have two situations that are throwing me curves.

1. I have a user who manually deleted content from the P4 server. Unfortunately there is now a job he submitted to remove those same files that keeps showing up to tell us that they are no longer there to be removed.

2. A remote user deleted his workplace and created a new one. Unfortunately it seems that when he deleted his old profile it sough to delete all the content in our animations depot. Now there are bunch of file showing up as checked out and marked for deletion to that removed profile. Is there a way for an admin account to remove any hold that non-existent user has  on these files?

With both of these I'm not sure how to approach them to sort them out.

Any help, links to step-by-step how-to's, would be appreciated

Thanks in advance

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1191 posts

Posted 24 December 2016 - 07:29 AM

View PostAllanA, on 24 December 2016 - 04:35 AM, said:

1. I have a user who manually deleted content from the P4 server. Unfortunately there is now a job he submitted to remove those same files that keeps showing up to tell us that they are no longer there to be removed.

I'm going to assume that when you say "manually deleted" you mean the user got access to the depot filesystem (which is bad; end users shouldn't have direct access to the server's files) and deleted the files from there rather than using "p4 delete" or "p4 obliterate".