• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Studly_Spud

Studly_Spud

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 06:34 AM

Hi all, just after some assistance with connecting to my Perforce server.   Please bear with me as I am new to Perforce; I've put down all the relevant info I can think of but please say if more information is required.
I have a Linux server running on a cloud host, I am able to ping this from my Windows workstation.  I am SSH'd into it.  I have installed Perforce on this and it is running.  When I installed Perforce, I set P4PORT to ubuntu-Perforce:1666, where 'ubuntu-Perforce' is the machine name.

Running 'p4 info' now returns this:

User name: richardp
Client name: ubuntu-Perforce
Client host: ubuntu-Perforce
Client unknown.
Current directory: /home/richardp
Peer address: 127.0.0.1:40240
Client address: 127.0.0.1
Server address: ubuntu-Perforce.localdomain:1666
Server root: /opt/perforce/servers/perforceserver
Server date: 2017/04/10 06:25:42 +0000 UTC
Server uptime: 00:07:24
Server version: P4D/LINUX26X86_64/2016.2/1498579 (2017/03/21)
ServerID: perforceserver
Server services: standard
Server license: none
Case Handling: sensitive
richardp@ubuntu-Perforce:~$

I then installed P4V on my windows workstation and attempted to connect to Server: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:1666 , where that is my server public IP, but it is rejected with this message:
Connect to server failed; check $P4PORT.
TCP connect to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:1666 failed.
connect: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:1666: WSAECONNREFUSED

I then tried setting my server P4PORT to 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:1666' and also just to '1666', but no improvement.  In this case, then running 'p4 info' on the server returned:
TCP connect to 1666 failed.
  connect: 127.0.0.1:1666: Connection refused
\

Additionally, p4 info on server also doesn't work when P4PORT is 'localhost:1666' or '127.0.0.1:1666' , it only works with the hostname.