Jump to content


Can not see Perforce "Current source control plug-in"

installer

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 meissnersd2

meissnersd2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 June 2017 - 06:49 PM

In VS 2015  v14.0.25425 update 3

I open Tools->Extenstion and Updates.
Under Installed->Tools I see
P4VS - Helix Plugin for Visual studio version 2017.1.152.674
is installed

Then I open Tools-Options...
I navigate to Source Control->Plug-in Selection

When I click the drop down "Current source control plug-in"
It does not show Perforce in the drop down.

When I open a solution I get a dialog
"The source control provider associated with the solution could not be found"

I downloaded the latest p4v installer from the web site.
When I double click the .vsix file it only offer to install into 2012 and 2013.    The version I use 2015 is not offered.

#2 tysonj

tysonj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 June 2017 - 05:51 PM

I am facing the same problem.

The installer does offer 2015 as the only option.

However, I do not see Perforce as an option in "Current source control plug in".

Please help.

Best,

Tyson

#3 itechnology

itechnology

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • LocationToulouse, France

Posted 07 July 2017 - 07:21 AM

I confirm this for Visual Studio 2012 too.

My current workaround is to install an older version that works, then just unzip the .vsix and replace all files in:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio XX\Common7\IDE\Extensions\[you'll find the right one...]\*

#4 mikea59

mikea59

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 July 2017 - 04:37 PM

I'm having the same problem. I installed VS in a non-standard location (D: drive) and cannot find any P4 related files under "Microsoft Visual Studio XX\Common7\IDE\Extensions\..". I wonder if my problem is that I installed VS in a non-standard location - anyone else do this?

#5 p4rfong

p4rfong

    Advanced Member

  • Staff Moderators
  • 165 posts

Posted 19 July 2017 - 08:01 PM

I assume you are using

https://www.perforce...ual-studio-p4vs

Try to completely uninstall Perforce P4VS and reinstall P4VS using the executable above.

#6 tmcsweeney

tmcsweeney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 August 2017 - 10:39 PM

One of our developers is also suffering from this. If he uninstalls and re-installs P4VS it will show up in the source control options but as soon as he quits and restarts Visual Studio  it breaks.  The plugin is still installed but P4VS has disappeared as an option n the Source control options.  We've tried installing from both within VS and by downloading from Perforce.com

#7 adrianschofield

adrianschofield

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 17 August 2017 - 10:15 AM

One workaround we have found for this problem is to install an earlier version of the extension, you can get the previous one here:

ftp://ftp.perforce.com/perforce/r16.1/bin.ntx86/p4vs11.vsix

First uninstall all extensions from Tools, Extensions and Updates
Then install the version linked above.
Make sure it's enabled in Tools, Options, Source Control

After this you can upgrade to the very latest extension from here:

https://www.perforce...ual-studio-p4vs

This problem only happens on a fresh install of Visual Studio 2015 where the P4VS extension has never been installed before. Please bear in mind that these are my personal findings, link to the older version provided by the fantastic folks in Perforce support.

#8 itechnology

itechnology

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • LocationToulouse, France

Posted 23 August 2017 - 09:42 AM

We had this problem too and solved it by simply overwriting the old extension.

All our dev tools are automatically deployed to dev workstations, so it's just a matter of unzipping the visix and doing a xcopy to the destination.
You do have to name your plugin folder to keep if from getting a random name when installed normally, and you should do a touch on "extensions.configurationchanged" to force VS to update extension info.

The problem happens here even on a non clean install of VS. Reproduction: uninstall old extension, restart, install new extension, restart. Now no entry in source control - plugin selection




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users