Jump to content


Switching streams removes all files

Streams P4V Command Line

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jstutesman

jstutesman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 July 2017 - 03:16 PM

After switching streams P4V throws a popup saying:

---------------------------
P4V
---------------------------
Update workspace files to match the workspace view changes?

Updating will only remove files that are no longer in the view and move files that have been mapped to a different location.
---------------------------
&Update   &Do Not Update  
---------------------------

"Update" on this popup triggers a sync ...#have, which then deletes all the files even though the majority of the files are unchanged from the previous stream.

"Do Not Update" and then syncing normally works as expected, but Is there a way to disable this behavior?

#2 p4rfong

p4rfong

    Advanced Member

  • Staff Moderators
  • 165 posts

Posted 19 July 2017 - 08:03 PM

Sorry, there is no way to change this behavior.  You'll have to use "Do not update".

#3 jstutesman

jstutesman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 July 2017 - 07:51 PM

So its expected that hitting Update will remove all files?  That seems... not ideal.

#4 p4rfong

p4rfong

    Advanced Member

  • Staff Moderators
  • 165 posts

Posted 03 August 2017 - 01:19 AM

Clicking "Update" adds and removesfiles to what you would see if you had a different client workspace on a different machine.  If you did not have any files on this client workspace, the files would be removed.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Streams, P4V, Command Line

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users