Issue creating a 2nd depot on server. File(s) not under client view.

p4v depots error

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 LinkDow2

LinkDow2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 October 2017 - 10:22 PM

Hi there,

I'm doing my best to properly understand and use perforce so forgive my ignorance as I'm still learning.

Here is the issue I'm having. Currently we have a depot and files mapped to it for one of our games (all is well here). Now, I'm trying to create a second depot on the server and connect a new work space to it that is only associated with this new depot (another game project). However, I don't know how to add files to the new depot on the server. I try to associate the files (mark them for add) and I always get this error, File(s) not under client view. I feel like this is such a simple thing but I don't understand how to set it up properly. I'm sure its really straightforward but I cant seem to find a single step by step tutorial on how to set up a second depot and its subsequent mappings on the same server.

Can anyone step in here and straighten me out? Maybe quick step by step?

#2 LinkDow2

LinkDow2

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 October 2017 - 02:13 PM

Update: I walked through everything with a more competent perforce user, and hes stumped. I even tried reinstalling everything via the perforce installation instructions/setup and I get this error. I'm stumped here...

Posted Image

#3 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1038 posts

Posted 13 October 2017 - 02:38 PM

All you need to do is update your client view.  Installing a whole new server is not necessary.

Run "p4 client".  Currently it probably looks like this:

//depot/... //myclient/...

Change it to map your new depot as well as the old one:

//depot/... //myclient/depot/...
   //depot2/... //myclient/depot2/...

Now you can add new files under "depot2".