5 replies to this topic

#1 Miles O'Neal

Miles O'Neal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 07:36 PM

Is there any way to sync Helix groups to LDAP but with exceptions? Ideally I'd like to be able to designate users that are not allowed from the LDAP group *and* designate users as members of the Helix group even though they are not in the LDAP group.
I am guessing the answer is no, but this would be really useful for us. I'm open to convolutions in the LDAP query. (I'm not an LDAP expert, so have no idea what is possible there.)

#2 Miles O'Neal

Miles O'Neal

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts

Posted 19 April 2018 - 09:03 PM

I'm sure we could do this with a trigger or a broker filter, but am hoping for something more elegant.

#3 P4Nick

P4Nick

Advanced Member

• Staff
  • 50 posts
  • LocationReading, UK

Posted 20 April 2018 - 03:33 PM

Hi Miles,

I'm not totally sure I understand what you mean by "designate users that are not allowed from the LDAP group".

My normal recommendation for mixing LDAP sync'ed groups with additional users is to use 2 groups and make one a subgroup of the other: this should solve the users from 2 sources issue.

Excluding particular LDAP users is probably best achieved in the LDAP query, or in the LDAP server itself depending on the scale of the problem.
If you're excluding half the users in an LDAP group,should there be a separate LDAP group?
If there's just a couple of specific users you need to exclude, then modifying the query might be better.

This IBM documentation for LDAP filtering has an example of a similar search exclusion:
https://www.ibm.com/...pfltrxprns.html

#4 Matt Janulewicz

Matt Janulewicz

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 197 posts
  • LocationSan Francisco, CA

Posted 23 April 2018 - 06:29 PM