• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 peetonn

peetonn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 June 2018 - 11:21 PM

I'm completely new to Perforce and after two painful days of figuring out Perforce, I finally arrived at the 5th stage of my grief.
Followed this video where everything is simple and straightforward, however unrealistic (dreaming of a better world where tutorials and sample code are as down to earth as possible).

Why it's not realistic? Because existing/freshly initialized project will never consist just of files, but directories.
This is the structure I currently have of my initial depot:

```
├── assets
│   ├── authoring
│   │   └── asset.ma
│   └── runtime
│       └── asset.fbx
├── dev
│   └── main
│       ├── ARCoreQuickStart.Editor.csproj
│       ├── ARCoreQuickStart.Plugins.csproj
│       ├── ARCoreQuickStart.csproj
│       ├── ARCoreQuickStart.sln
│       ├── Assembly-CSharp-Editor.csproj
│       ├── Assembly-CSharp-firstpass.csproj
│       ├── Assembly-CSharp.csproj
│       ├── Assets
│       ├── Packages
│       ├── ProjectSettings
│       └── UnityPackageManager
└── docs
    └── README.md
```

As in the video above, I connected to the server and created a workspace `all_ws` as in the video, empty.
Then, I copied the above folder structure to my workspace folder and then tried to "Mark for Add..."
However it spits out many errors, like "file(s) not in client view" (it's 722 warnings, as Unity project has a lot of SDK files already).

How shall I initialize depot with the given folder structure?
Do I need to manually add every file out of those 722?

Thank you in advance for help.

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts

Posted 18 June 2018 - 07:18 PM