Jump to content


Deleting users on expired license


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 peetonn

peetonn

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 July 2018 - 12:59 AM

Our team was issued a temporary license due to purchasing bureaucracy and it got expired before the new license arrived. Now every perforce command fails with "License expired" message.
Attempts to rollback to 5-user free license failed:

1/ Tried to remove 10 users (total 15) to go back to free 5-user license, but P4V doesn't allow to delete user (button is disabled) and `p4d user -d <username>` command fails with "License expired" message:

```
$ p4 user -d acenteno
License file invalid.
License expired.
```

2/ shut down server and remove `license` and `license.txt` files from `P4ROOT` then start server again -- server won't start, saying:

```
Perforce server error:
Warning! You have exceeded the usage limits of Perforce Helix. Version 16.1 allows up to five users without commercial licenses. You may continue your current usage with previous versions of our software.

Try deleting old users with 'user -d'.
License count: 15 users used of 5 licensed.

For additional licenses, contact Perforce Sales at sales@perforce.com.
Perforce server error:
Warning! You have exceeded the usage limits of Perforce Helix. Version 16.1 allows up to five users without commercial licenses. You may continue your current usage with previous versions of our software.

Try deleting old users with 'user -d'.
License count: 15 users used of 5 licensed.

For additional licenses, contact Perforce Sales at sales@perforce.com.
```

How shall I delete users on expired license?

#2 dave.foglesong

dave.foglesong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 July 2018 - 02:49 AM

I think "p4d -n" (maintenance mode) would work here. It's described in the "p4 help undoc" help text:

    p4d -n
       Starts the server in maintenance mode. Maintenance mode does not
       police the user and file count restrictions listed in the license
       file. When in maintenance mode a server is only able to perform
       those commands that do not require a client. In addition, if the
       server is in maintenance mode and it is a member of a DCS cluster
       it will not launch a p4zk process.

#3 tkosinski

tkosinski

    Advanced Member

  • Sandbox Beta
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts

Posted 12 July 2018 - 06:35 PM

You have the new license? Don't delete your users. Drop in the new license (as "license" - no extension) and restart the server.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users