3 replies to this topic

#1 BlueTigerAnimations

BlueTigerAnimations

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 February 2019 - 03:03 PM

Hi Everyone :)
This is my first time posting here, using perforce, and using Linux so please be gentle :D

I've been trying to set up a P4D server on my Ubuntu station for a while now so me and my team can try using PF instead of GIT, but even after Following the instalation step by step, and and searching on google for days, I keep getting this error whenever I use "p4d" to start the server:

Perforce server error:
    Listen :1666 failed.
    TCP listen on :1666 failed.
    bind: 0.0.0.0:1666: Address already in use

Does anyone know how to fix this? atm nobody can connect :/ I've tried setting different ports, and IPs, but nothing works. I'm very sure there isn't actually another process running on that adress and I even tried setting other adresses.

Here is my p4 info:

User name: super
Client name: server-game
Client host: server-game
Client unknown.
Current directory: /home/dave
Peer address: 127.0.0.1:59306
Client address: 127.0.0.1
Server address: localhost:1666
Server root: /opt/perforce/servers/master/root
Server date: 2019/02/05 15:56:48 +0100 CET
Server uptime: 15:50:53
Server version: P4D/LINUX26X86_64/2018.2/1751184 (2019/01/21)
ServerID: master
Server services: commit-server
Server license: none
Case Handling: sensitive

Thanks in advance! :)

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 713 posts

Posted 05 February 2019 - 04:28 PM

Sounds like you already have a p4d running on that port?  Both the error message and the "p4 info" response from that server support that.  :)

If nobody else can connect to it, maybe it's only listening on localhost?  Try shutting it down with "p4 admin stop" and then try launching p4d with a port of "1666" like you were trying to do in the first part of your post.

If it's still not reachable by other people, make sure there isn't a firewall in front of it, etc.