How to handle huge binaries that are needed multiple times?

symbolic links binaries Unreal Engine

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 SirHubert

SirHubert

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 March 2019 - 09:12 PM

Hey all,

I'm new to version control in general but I have to start using it since my project is getting too big to fail. Here is the thing: I am working in Unreal Engine and I have two projects that are similar. One is a server project and one is the graphical client. The way Unreal works is that you have to have a "content" directory in your project under which all the binary assets are. No way around that.

I have a set of static assets that I bought from their marketplace and that is about 100GB. It's problematic to have a copy of these assets in each project, possibly even in different codelines that I may check out. It's 100GB each in the workstation not to mention the space wasted on the Perforce server. So I tried using Windows symbolic links to link each project to one physical directory. That works so far and it worked in  Unreal Editor too until I enabled Perforce in which case Unreal looks at these not as links but as real directories. Now it nags me about checking in those binaries into perforce and when I give in it checks them into each perforce depot.

Actually I have one depot that holds both client and server Unreal projects because they are interconnected, no way I could make change to one of them and not need to make changes to the other.

The problem really is that neither Unreal nor Perforce can realize that these links go to the same directory and treat this as one only. I would check in the 100GB once if necessary but would rather avoid checking them in for each Unreal project.

I hope I described my problem clear enough.

Now what would be the best way to handle such a situation in Perforce? Is there a way around checking in the binaries multiple times at all?

Thanks

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member