Jump to content


Allowing a group of users to edit workspace/client

workspace client permission

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 joakim.dejong

joakim.dejong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 March 2019 - 10:40 AM

Hi!

I'm wondering if there is a way of granting access to a group of users to edit a workspace/client info?
No other users are allowed to edit it.

The reason for this is that the workspace is connected to a specific stream and we have had a few issues where some inexperienced users accidentally moved the workspace to another stream.

Everyone should be able to sync the workspace but not move it to another stream.

Anyone have an idea how to administer this?

We are running server version: P4D/NTX64/2015.2/1413640 and using P4v to access it

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 764 posts

Posted 14 March 2019 - 05:45 PM

Before I start speculating on solutions involved the "locked" option and/or triggers, are you sure that everyone should be sharing one workspace?  That's usually not a good idea, and in the cases where a shared workspace is useful, you generally have it completely managed by some kind of automation rather than letting individual users run arbitrary commands in it.  Can you share any information about the use case?

#3 joakim.dejong

joakim.dejong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 March 2019 - 01:45 PM

An example is to sync files to a test environment.
The setup right now is that we develop in a development stream, merge/copy the changes to the test stream and sync the test workspace to get the updated files to the test environment and finally compile the test environment.
We have thought about using triggers to autosync the files to the environment from the stream but it's not allways wanted behaviour. That is why we still do the sync manually.

#4 Sambwise

Sambwise

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 764 posts

Posted 15 March 2019 - 03:47 PM

I can think of two ways to go:

1) Set the client spec to "locked" and use some sort of automation to trigger the sync action -- probably not a trigger in Perforce, but rather in your build system.
2) Leave the client unlocked, but put a trigger on the client spec that'll reject any edits to it that don't come from an approved user.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: workspace, client, permission

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users