Basic read-write workflow steps for Unity projects and P4V.

unity p4v add reconcile bulk howto

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 jazzbach

jazzbach

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 May 2019 - 07:55 PM

Hello !

I'm a total newbie with Perforce and unfortunately I'm having a hard time trying to understand the basic process of manually adding and retrieving multiple files with P4V on a Unity project. My problem is as follows:

I'm currently working in Unity with a team of 4 people and each of us is adding assets to the project (3D models, animations, scripts and so on). When I want to add my changes to the depot,I right-click on the whole Unity project folder and select "Mark for add" and then "submit". I know that there's something wrong with this approach because when I get the latest revision my project is broken ("pink" 3D models in the scene). It's important to note that when I did this, there was already a project in the depo. I don't know what went wrong in here.

After that incident, I deleted the whole Unity project from the depot and replaced it with a version I knew it was working and started again to add assets to the Unity project, This time, instead of "marking for add" the whole project, I "marked for add" only the assets I created. But then, I remembered that Unity automatically creates .meta files so my thought was "marking for add" those meta files as well. This baffles me because I need to take note on each and every asset I add as well as any files unity creates automatically, which will invariably lead to myself forgetting to add something in the future.

I stumbled upon the following thread (the user is having a similar problem) and the user describes a hypothetical "workflow" using "reconcile":
https://forums.perfo...ounts-of-files/