How can we avoid integrating changes from one branch to other in perforce?

triiggers

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Naveen kumar pet

Naveen kumar pet

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 03 July 2019 - 04:22 AM

I am new to perforce. I have a requirement to create a trigger to avoid integrating changes from one particular branch say 'branch_testing' to 'main' branch.

Can you please share some sample script which will avoid integrating changes from one branch to other?

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 846 posts

Posted 03 July 2019 - 07:11 AM

If you want to absolutely prevent changes from going from branch_testing to main, you need to use the protections table and do one of two things:

1) Remove "read" access to branch_testing.
2) Remove "write" access to main.

Otherwise, even if you implement clever controls on the integrate command, there's nothing to stop a user from doing:

p4 sync branch_testing/...
p4 edit main/...
cp -R branch_testing main
p4 submit

#3 Naveen kumar pet

Naveen kumar pet

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 03 July 2019 - 09:48 AM

Actually we want other branches to integrate the changes to main branch. My requirement is, i want to prevent only that particular branch 'branch_testing' changes to integrate to main branch.'' We can achieve this only through trigger i guess?

If we remove the write access, We cant integrate the changes from other branches right ?

#4 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 846 posts

Posted 03 July 2019 - 03:34 PM

View PostNaveen kumar pet, on 03 July 2019 - 09:48 AM, said:

If we remove the write access, We cant integrate the changes from other branches right ?