• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 damageINC

damageINC

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 September 2019 - 03:35 AM

Is there any reason I can't or shouldn't install P4D to a location other than the C-drive? My server rig has a smaller SSD that contains windows and a much larger 4TB hdd that I was planning on using as my depot. I didn't realize when I installed the server that the default location of the storage depot was within the server's install location. So is there any reason I couldn't simply install P4D and P4V on the other drive so storage space stops being an issue?

I started reading up on creating alternate depots with the Admin tool but this seems like it's more difficult and potentially complex situation. I'm no IT professional and I'd like to avoid any weird one off stuff procedure-wise if possible. I had a hard enough time setting up firewall rules so another computer on my home network could even see the server machine. Thanks.

#2 P4Jen

P4Jen

Advanced Member

• Staff Moderators
  • 147 posts

Posted 13 September 2019 - 02:15 PM

Hi,

I suggest you leave your database (db.*) files on the SSD, as this will make retrieval of metadata from disk faster.

Instructions for moving depots are located here:
  https://community.pe.../s/article/2559

There is no problem putting the database and depot files (P4ROOT) in a location other than the default.
However you are limited by the performance of your drive.

Hope this helps,
Jen.

#3 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 917 posts

Posted 13 September 2019 - 03:11 PM

View PostdamageINC, on 09 September 2019 - 03:35 AM, said:

I started reading up on creating alternate depots with the Admin tool but this seems like it's more difficult and potentially complex situation.