Jump to content


Why are these files left open for delete even after resolve

p4 submit

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 engr.vns

engr.vns

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 14 July 2020 - 01:38 AM

One of the recommended best practices to ensure that your p4 submits are a complete set (no dependency on local files) is to

Step 1) Shelve the changes in your development client (client_dev)
Step 2) Unshelve the changes in your client dedicated to making a release (client_release)
Step 3) Run tests and submit in client_release.
Step 4) Once the submission is done, sync and revert the changes in your client_dev.

This ensures that you are submission is complete and there are no local development files.

At the end of Step 4, All your changes should be in the depot and your files in client_dev should not have any opened files.

However at Step 4, after I do a "p4 revert -a" I still see files listed as open -
<file.rpt>#1 - delete change <CL> (symlink)

This seems to happen with files that are symlinks...
Why would these files which are symlinks remain as open even after revert...?

- EVS

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1149 posts

Posted 14 July 2020 - 02:01 AM

"revert -a" only reverts unchanged files.  You want just regular "p4 revert //..." if you want to revert everything.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: p4 submit

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users