• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Twist

Twist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 August 2020 - 10:03 PM

I am new to Perforce and will be using it with Unreal Engine for version control. I will eventually host my server at home with friends so they will need to access it remotely.

My questions are:

-  What operating system (Windows or Linux) works best with Perforce Helix Core Server?

-  How much storage would all databases take up roughly and how quickly? I am trying to work out if i should get an extra SSD.
   I see in the manual it is recommended that the Journal should be on a different drive to the metadata. I would also need to find a way to connect another drive in case one begins to fill up .

#2 Sambwise

Sambwise

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1192 posts

Posted 01 September 2020 - 02:53 PM

View PostTwist, on 23 August 2020 - 10:03 PM, said:

What operating system (Windows or Linux) works best with Perforce Helix Core Server?

If you're running a large-scale commercial server, I'd say Linux, unhesitatingly.

If you're hosting a personal project, I'd say use whichever you're more comfortable with.  I've seen many posts on this forum from people who have never used Linux before and are trying to set up a Linux server to use for an Unreal project (because some tutorial said to) and consequently struggling with very basic system administration tasks (managing disk space, etc) that would have been trivial on a platform they were familiar with.  So the hypothetical filesystem performance benefits of using Linux (which, tbh, I'm not sure still exist -- the last time I looked at performance benchmarks was more than a decade ago, and Windows has made some strides since then) may not outweigh the hassle, and in any case aren't really a factor with a relatively small server.

How much storage would all databases take up roughly and how quickly? I am trying to work out if i should get an extra SSD.