Jump to content


BJS

Member Since 20 Sep 2019
Offline Last Active Mar 30 2020 05:41 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: How to revert but keep local changes?

30 March 2020 - 04:55 PM

Thanks you very much. I know what it is not a recommended workflow and it is only in a specific situation I need this.
Can you (or anybody else) give me a step-by-step on how I would add such a P4 command as a custom tool to P4V?

In Topic: How to revert check-in, keeping changes locally?

04 December 2019 - 08:37 AM

View PostSambwise, on 04 December 2019 - 04:10 AM, said:

If you want this functionality to be easily accessible via P4V (although if it's a frequent part of your workflow there's probably a better way of accomplishing it) you can add it as a custom tool that invokes the command line client.

Thank you, that is interesting. How exactly would I add this as a tool, i.e. what is the correct way of setting it up in
[...image as attachment...]

?

As an aside: Can I set up a custom tool that opens me p4 console window like that as well?

In Topic: How to do an forced "merged - Get Latest" with files not checked-out?

19 November 2019 - 08:45 AM

Thanks for the additional info. I'll pass it on to the person managing our system.

In Topic: How to do an forced "merged - Get Latest" with files not checked-out?

18 November 2019 - 05:41 PM

View PostSambwise, on 15 November 2019 - 09:06 AM, said:

I'm still pretty sure that you have some kind of workspace-sharing issue going on, since that's the only way I can conceive of one user's open file affecting another user's sync.

Let me think... there is one thing which might be untypical going on in our setup...
All three persons A, B and C have their own workspace mapping onto their own local directories ( A_ws, B_ws, C_ws ).
However, all three (may) use batch-files of a different (common) workspace mapping onto the same local directories during some automated building process. (autoBuild_ws)

i.e. the workflow of person A may be:
  • Use workspace A_ws to sync from depot.
  • Build stuff locally. (no code was changed)
  • Call an automated build-script, which uses the workspace autoBuild_ws to sync from depot into the same local directory-tree (same mapping structure) and performs a series of automated builds.
  • Use workspace A_ws to sync from depot. --> now can see the problem described earlier
Person B and person C might also have run the same batch files (with autoBuild_ws) but when checking-out/-in files, they are always working on there respective unique workspaces.




View PostSambwise, on 15 November 2019 - 09:06 AM, said:

Did you take the step of locking the workspaces and password-protecting user accounts to make absolutely sure that they can't be shared accidentally?

Yes.


View PostSambwise, on 15 November 2019 - 09:06 AM, said:

If this were a situation that could ever be recreated, then I'd be very interested in seeing the output of person A's "sync" command (to see what error it returns, if any) as well as an "opened" command (to verify that there are no files open on that client).


It was fully reproducible, but I tested it with some colleagues when we were physically together. Unfortunately, I'm not now as I work remotely and several hrs time-difference in between. But it can be arranged...

In Topic: How to do an forced "merged - Get Latest" with files not checked-out?

15 November 2019 - 08:44 AM

Thanks for the details, but no, that does not seem to be the problem.
As far as I can see, we all have separate workspaces for each computer in use, but we'll possibly do a careful check of that again.
Certainly the Person A, B, C of my example above had all separate workspaces at the time of trying.
What we do have is multiple (different) workspaces per machine for different projects, but I think that is as it is supposed to be. But each workspace has a single (correct) Owner and Host.

View PostSambwise, on 14 November 2019 - 09:37 PM, said:

If you don't have a Perforce license and you're consequently not able to create a workspace for each user, then I regret to tell you that you've exceeded the limits of the free version and should either pay for a license or uninstall it and use another tool.

No worries there. Quite the opposite. We've rather recently changed over to Perforce from a different system.