Jump to content


Sambwise

Member Since 12 Sep 2016
Offline Last Active Today, 06:09 PM
*****

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Allowing a group of users to edit workspace/client

15 March 2019 - 03:47 PM

I can think of two ways to go:

1) Set the client spec to "locked" and use some sort of automation to trigger the sync action -- probably not a trigger in Perforce, but rather in your build system.
2) Leave the client unlocked, but put a trigger on the client spec that'll reject any edits to it that don't come from an approved user.

In Topic: How to add a new project to a server? Currently single depot single project...

14 March 2019 - 05:48 PM

Sounds like you're using two different client specs when you probably want to just use one?

At the command line you can run "p4 set P4CLIENT=clientname" to set the client you want to use, which it sounds like is "robert-Z99"?  Or maybe you want to tell P4V that you're using the "robert-Z97" workspace?  (I forget now what that looks like in P4V, I think it's "choose workspace" or something like that, or maybe it's a right-click option on the list of workspaces that you can see somewhere.)

Use the one where you've actually synced files successfully in both places, and just delete the "extra" one you created.  Then the next time you go to edit your client spec, make sure the names match!  :)

In Topic: Allowing a group of users to edit workspace/client

14 March 2019 - 05:45 PM

Before I start speculating on solutions involved the "locked" option and/or triggers, are you sure that everyone should be sharing one workspace?  That's usually not a good idea, and in the cases where a shared workspace is useful, you generally have it completely managed by some kind of automation rather than letting individual users run arbitrary commands in it.  Can you share any information about the use case?

In Topic: Ran out of space and can't log into workspace!

11 March 2019 - 07:29 PM

Make sure there's a tab at the start of the line?  Multiline fields in Perforce forms are always tabbed; a line with no leading whitespace marks the start of the next field.

It should look like this (assuming I can convince Invision not to garble the formatting):

TypeMap:
	+S7 //...

In Topic: Ran out of space and can't log into workspace!

11 March 2019 - 07:09 PM

Ah -- yeah, you killed the typemap command before it actually saved the typemap to the server.  It's waiting for the editor to exit to know that you're done with the file, and TextEdit doesn't exit when you close the window.  I think you can use TextEdit if you remember to exit the app after you save the file -- or you can run "p4 set P4EDITOR=vim" or some other editor that's more CLI-friendly.